Toddler Frustration

Our two are doing so well with communicating already. So many words in their repertoire and yesterday we even got a totally clear “water” out of Pudding as she sat on the pool cover splashing in the water coming through the holes (and before anyone panics, we have one of the those solid pool covers, she wasn’t at risk of drowning). Pudding is especially vocal and will babble at you and look at you very seriously as she does and she wants a response.

But, and it is a BIG BUT, I am beginning to wonder whether the terrible twos can honestly be much worse. Pudding gets so frustrated when you don’t understand what she is saying. Yesterday afternoon (they had skipped their afternoon nap for reasons only they will understand?) and we were sitting on the kitchen floor having a fruit snack when Pudding launched into a conversation with me. Very earnest and then she paused. She was obviously waiting for an answer from me, so I nodded and said “really”, my standard answer when I am not clear on what she is going on about. Well, it clearly was not the right answer. She said her babble speech again, I swear it sounded exactly the same as the previous speech. So I said, “Honey I am not sure what you are saying, what do you want?”. She said her babble speech again, again with exactly the same sounds. She clearly thought she was actually saying real words. So I repeated that I didn’t understand could she point at what she wanted. Well she stalked off to the other side of the kitchen table and burst into floods of tears. The frustration was oozing out of her that I didn’t understand or wasn’t doing what she wanted or giving her what she was after. I went to her, gave her a hug, but she was having none of it, she sobbed for ages with big crocodile tears running down her cheeks.

As I understand it the terrible twos are largely around this frustration around an inability to communicate and be understood, is this the case? Does anyone have any tricks I can use to help my daughter communicate while her vocabulary builds. She has a temper at the best of times, but this frustration is driving her off the wall. Or do I just ride this out and keep doing everything we can to grow that vocab as quickly as possible?

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Toddler Frustration

  1. darylfaure says:

    Sounds like they are already doing really well with their vocab and speech. Be careful what you wish for….the next phase when their speech is developed enough is the why phase, and that is enough sometimes to make you want to jump off a cliff screaming, and I only have one.

  2. Sam says:

    Nita, we have had a similar scenario happening in our house since Kade has been more communicative. It is so frustrating for both sprog and parent cos it is a bit of a guessing game when trying to figure out what they are trying to say. I just ride the tantrum/crying out by trying to get him to point to what it is he’s referring to or by distracting him from the issue at hand. I know some people have effectively used baby sign language effectively – perhaps that might be an option?

    Good luck – its not an easy time but it will get better as their vocab improves.

    xxx

  3. Melinda says:

    Hey Juanita…I tried the long route. When Jada was getting frustrated, I would go thru the standard options (like : Hungry, good, water, juice…etc) and then I would start pointing at things until we finally came to an answer…and then we would scream “Hoooorraahh”

  4. Rebecca says:

    Pointing and naming almost everything we saw got us through that stage without gaining grey hairs! (although our son is pretty adept at getting his point across and has been from an early age)

  5. Hi, sounds like your twins are doing excellent and I really think it is sing of a “healthy mind” to try to communicate with others.
    Zoé went through (and now again goes through a more difficult patch) of communication frustration. I notice there are 2 differrent situation: A) when she wants something and get frustrated when we do not understand what she wants. We tried to motivate her to point at things when she does not know the word, then name that thing and we tell her “use words” when she uses other ways of communication like whining, throwing … . B) when she is just “talkative”, and goes into big explanations and stories “telling” (that seems perfectly clear for her but not to be understood by me) I always say “yes” or “yes, you are right”.
    Good luck. It is soo cute and funny when they start speaking and when their eyes sparkle because they feel understood !!

Leave a Reply

