Priorities to fit it all in

I have really been missing blogging, but life just doesn’t seem to be leaving me time to do it.  I keep thinking I will start making better use of my evenings, but there always seems to be something else / better to do.  The kids go to sleep so well (touch wood, please don’t let this jinx it) and normally around 6.30 / 7.00 at the latest Chris and I have our evenings.  Both of us have now got more energy and don’t need to fall into bed by 9.00 to catch some shut eye, so our evenings are also longer.  Once the kids are down we eat dinner and that is where my best intentions fall down.  You see once I sit down and relax over dinner all plans to do anything after dinner go straight out the window.  Either we sit at a table or in our rocking chairs with a view to eat in which case we normally end up in some long conversation and before you know it, it’is bed time.  Or we eat while we watch TV (yes I know this is a bad habit) in which case the next time I move is to the bedroom to go to sleep.

Now that we have more space I keep thinking I will start scrap booking again in the evenings, I have started teaching myself to crochet, I am newly obsessed with Pintrest, I am doing a lot of research into Montessori learning activities for the twins, and Chris and I are getting back to us, just the two of us.

I think the first year of motherhood was so all consuming to me, I had so little head space for anything other than the babes.  Not to mention how it honestly felt as though I always had a baby in my arms and if I didn’t have a babe in my arms, they were desperately trying to recover from having a baby in or just enjoying not having a babe in the arms.  I often think that non-multiple parents really cannot understand just how all consuming multiples are.  I often think if twins are this hectic can you imagine just how crazy triplets or more must be.  But the crazy has eased, or maybe I am just more comfortable in my new role.  That’s not to say I am not still totally consumed, but there is space for (some) other stuff.  So how is it that it’s been over a month since I last blogged again?

Priorities I guess.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Priorities to fit it all in

  1. Melinda says:

    I think spending time on your Rocking chair talking to Chris sounds alot more exciting than blogging or scrapping….
    What I do is allocate half and hour every so often to updating my blog at work….I find that, yes, even with a single one, I have no time….and the time that I do have I would rather spend on other things…
    Good luck..hope you can get it right

  2. Sam says:

    I found life much easier to juggle once K had turned one. I try catch up on blogs for the first hour or so at work or when I’m at home over the weekend. Doesn’t always work but I try. This year I’m focusing on doing more things for myself and taking time out to do what I need/want to be happy *outside* of being K’s mommy if you know what I mean…

    Good luck trying to find the balance. Its not always easy.

    xxx

  3. Daryl says:

    It sounds like your priorities are right where they should be. One-on-one time with Chris after enjoying the day with the twins sounds lovely.

  4. I am one with Daryl on this one … priority on relationships, then the rest !!
    But I do know what you mean …. for me time is always short even with ONE toddler. I cannot imagine how it is with TWO ….. !! (luckily because that is why we are singing up to adopt 2) ;-))
    I find that the more our babies grow and become independent toddlers, the less time consuming it is. There are other challenges (that are sometimes exhausting during the terrible (pre) twos) but doing things I like, for myself, gives me the energy necessary to cope with tantrums, “NO” “No” “Nooooo”s etc.

Leave a Reply

