Home Schooling

I mentioned I have a mild obsession going on with Pintrest.  Everything from ideas for the twins play room to photo ideas to my other obsession; developing our kids.  So Pintrest is feeding my addiction.  It is so full of awesome ideas and it has definitely made me much more comfortable with our plans for the kids for this year.

Before we moved house I was totally clear on the fact that the kids were going to go to school from 18 months.  I had found a great school near us that would take them.  I know a couple of kids who have been to this school and they are awesome little kids, great manners, really smart and well rounded kids.  Of course you have to ask is it the school or the parents or both, but whatever I was very happy with the plan.  This plan was going to give the kids mornings at school and afternoons at home, a good balance, plenty opportunity to build social skills and lots of stimulation to keep them developing.

Then we moved and the school I was planning on is so far out the way and totally inconvenient, so it just wasn’t going to work.  I spent three months last year researching every play school in our new area.  Most of them don’t take kids until they are two.  Those that will take them earlier are either Afrikaans or don’t look very good.  And yes I am being fussy, but it matters, matters a lot!  So after a lot of irritating Chris with an endless conversation weighing up the options available to us we decided the kids are staying home this year.

I was resigned to this decision.  We have an au pair who looks after the kids, she is great with them, they love her, she is gentle and kind and loving and makes our lives work well.  But (please I don’t mean to be rude) she is not the smartest.  And I was so worried that the kids would not be getting enough mental stimulation from her, they would not have enough variety in their lives and that because of that they would not achieve what they are capable of.

Jax (the au pair) and I had a chat and agreed that she would start more structured play with them, start introducing more varied activities.  And so began my research and Pintrest started to fill the gaps.  I have been craft and stationery shopping so they have supplies for their new activities.  For Christmas they got play dough and finger paints and last week we got our first art work from the kids.  We have had fun with straws and cotton wool and pipe cleaners and colanders.  Soon will be coloured pom poms and muffin tins and glitter and stencils.

I won’t bore you with the long list of how smart the Hope Babes are getting, I won’t go into the details of all the new words and tricks that they are coming up with, but they are doing so very well on the communication milestones that they have both ticked every single two year old milestone already at just 14 months and actually have a vocab bigger than the average two year old.  And this has made me realise that I really don’t need to worry.  Our kids are doing brilliantly.  They are developing so well at home and maybe just maybe being home is helping them to reach their potential faster than if they had gone to school.  So together with our new home schooling plan they will continue to do well.

All that’s left to worry about (today anyway) is their social and physical development.  So we have signed up for Clamber Club classes, starting this afternoon.  I am so excited to see how they do with this and I will try to report back on how it goes.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home Schooling

  1. Heather says:

    Looks like you have a good plan for them! I did try Clamber Club with my babe, he enjoyed it very much. You can also send the au pair on a child stimulation course eg super nannies.

  2. Sam says:

    Sounds like you’ve got it all under control Nits and that the babes are flourishing.

    xxx

  3. Alex Trusk says:

    How can I contact you dear? We, me and my fiancee too have a problem. I am azoospermia 😦
    I would like ask few questions if u allow.Thank you

  4. Pingback: Hi Ho… It’s Off to School We Go | Mommy-at-Last

Leave a Reply

