Is it a twin thing?

I have noticed that over the last two years the blogs I follow have changed so much.  Two years ago I followed women in the throes of IVF or infertility treatments.  The majority of the blogs in my reader were about male factor infertility.  It was what I related to, it was what I was going through, their stories had a resonance for me.  And when those people fell pregnant I kept following because their story was the success I hoped to have.

Then we fell pregnant (can you believe it was nearly two years ago already) and I started following more preggie post infertility blogs.  Then we found out we were having twins and I moved to focusing on twin pregnancy blogs, again still all infertility survivors.  As an aside I really found that tracking my twin pregnancy against a singleton pregnancy made me scared.  My symptoms seemed so much worse and more advanced and I just found sanity following other twin mom’s to be.  And so from that stemmed my list that I follow now.  And slowly we all became twin moms together.  And with time I have added other twin moms and some of them are not recovering infertiles, just twin moms.

I focused on twin mom’s rather than just moms with kids the same age as mine.  In the beginning it seemed so important that they be twin moms because so much seemed more complicated with two than just one and I needed all the help and advice I could find.  Reading about how other twin mom’s were struggling to breastfeed two or produce enough milk, or cope with two crying colicy babies at once and structure their routines really helped me feel normal and gave me some really good basis on which to make our own decisions.  It really was all about twins, not just babies.

The women who I had been following who also fell pregnant and had singletons I still followed, but for a while there it honestly felt as though we weren’t on the same track.

Now our babes are getting bigger and so much easier to cope with.  They are two such different little people with two such different personalities and needs that it doesn’t seem like a twin thing anymore.  And now I find myself more concerned about reading about parents of kids the age of or a little older than my two rather than them being twins.  I find myself fascinated by the decisions of all moms, the thought processes and struggles and joys of all moms.  I devour news on how babes of a similar age are doing and how they are being stimulated and how they are responding to the world around them.  I guess I am starting to be interested in Mommy Bloggers, not just Twin Mommy Bloggers.  But I have to admit that the majority of my reader is still Multiple Mommies.

What do you think, do you think it really is different being a twin mom from being a mom to a singleton?  And what about when the singleton mom has a second babe, aren’t they entering the mom to multiples world?  As a mom blogger (or blog reader) what is most important to you in terms of choosing which blogs to follow?

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it a twin thing?

  1. Funny enough I went from mostly moms of multiples all over the world, to a lot of South African moms. But I still keep those moms of multiples in my reader – they are possibly my oldest blog friends. And I specifically love to find other SA twin moms – regardless of the age of the twins.

  2. michele says:

    I read blogs from all over the board, but I can definitely say that even a mom with several nontwin kids is still different from twinhood. I dont think it is a bad thing, just a different thing. Each new perspective gives me a different way to look at things. Being pregnant with a singleton now, all I can think about is how much easier it has to be to have just one to deal with in infancy versus two, especially since Bobby and Maya will be almost 4 when the new baby (fingers crossed) is born.

Leave a Reply

