Post Pregnancy Body

I alluded to my post-twin-pregnancy body yesterday and it got me thinking again about some of the changes I have experienced.  I would love some feedback from others on whether they had any of this,  if any of you have any tips or insights they are most welcome (assvice solicited)!

Well as I have ‘bragged’ about before, I got back to my pre-pregnancy weight within three weeks of giving birth.  I guess that probably means I either didn’t actually put on fat whilst pregnant (despite gaining 30 kgs during the pregnancy) or breastfeeding two sucked all the fat out of me in no time at all.  I was very proud of this fact.  Of course now breastfeeding is behind me and some of the weight has snuck back, but I know that this has nothing to do with pregnancy, it is me and my eating habits and from a weight perspective I think I am actually one of those lucky few who never came out of pregnancy with ‘baby weight’.

Not so lucky on other fronts.

First up is the aching body.  Mostly in my feet, but also my wrists.  I am not too sure how to describe the feeling other than that when I wake up in the morning my feet ache, ache to the point that standing on them is agony.  Most of my body aches until I get moving, but the ache in my joints is the worst.  My wrists seem to have become really weak and the strength I once had in my hands is long gone.  I have read one blog where the woman mentioned some of what I am experiencing, but she never had a solution.  I have tried upping the quantity of Omegas that I take to see if I just need to lubricate my joints, but it has made no difference.  I have wondered whether the twins sucked something out my body whilst growing there that simply hasn’t been replenished yet and if I can just figure out what it is I can take some supplement to give me back increased mobility.  I have also wondered if I don’t just need to do more (some) exercise.  I was very sedentary during the pregnancy (I am still convinced it helped me carry the twins as long and as big as I did), but maybe I seized up and now things don’t want to get moving again?  I have started walking in the evenings with the kids, but so far no big change, but it has only been just over a week.  As I say if anyone has had similar or has any cure please share.

Then there is the tummy, now this I have heard of and expected, but I need some help on how to fix it.  I am well endowed (as in big b00bies) and I always used to say that thanks to this endowment, I often looked slimmer than I am because my b00bies stuck out further than my tummy.  Well not anymore!  I have no, as in zero, stomach muscles.  Nada, zip, zilch!  Fairly early in my pregnancy (early second trimester) you could actually see how my tummy muscles split aside.  I have since read that a c-sec can make this worse.  Anyway, my muscles have never come back together.  I have also done NOTHING to help that happen and I guess I should try some of those exercises because seriously I have no stomach muscles of any use what so ever.  Have I left it too late, am I stuck like this forever?  As a result of no stomach muscles my back is taking strain, because it is carrying the whole burden.  I am sure it is also struggling because I am often carrying two toddlers around a combined weight of nearly 24kgs!  But any tips on bringing my tummy back together would be most welcome.

Now please this is in no way a complaint session, neither am I hoping for some ficticious post baby slendour.  This is not about weight, but about health, I know how to loose weight.  I am just starting to feel like I need to get things back together and looking for any advice on how I can do that.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Post Pregnancy Body

  1. Melinda says:

    My body took a beating being pregnant…I put on (last weigh in a month before birth) 20 kgs…so I am imagining I put on in the region of 25 kgs (for a singleton). After her birth, I lost all my weight except about 4 kgs. Jadakins is now two…and I am two kgs from pre preggie weight. I do not have any complaints about joints, so cannot help you there….What I have done, is join Weigh less again (it works for me…yes, it does take longer but it works) and started going to the gym regularly. I do sit ups every time I go to gym, and I can see the difference…so I do believe there is life after a C Sec…
    Good luck

  2. jessperelson says:

    I’ve yet to lose my preggie weight & I’m still breast-feeding 2 every 1-2 hours. My attempts to eat right keep failing. My tummy is also “separated”. I’m planning on getting back to belly dancing this year to try & get back the strength I had pre-pregnancy but I know I’ll never get my flat tight tummy back. I’ll also always have stretch marks. Another twin mom was told the only way to fix the separated muscles is a surgical procedure that stitches them back together. She has a 5cm separation. My breasts will never be the same either.

  3. Fabulous Mommy says:

    Hun I also have a huge boep. I’ve even been asked how far am I. it is embarrassing! I’m not sure what to do because I feel fat and unattractive. I need to do something and soon.

    the joint pain you can take Arthroguard or Arthrochoice. I also took it for a while because I go excruciating pain in my one big toe after pregnancy (not gout just damaged the joint somehow) and the supplements really helped.

    I’m finding new motivation to get healthy because I feel I owe it to my boys. I Ned to lose about 20kg

  4. darylfaure says:

    I agree, take arthroguard. It really does help. I had to wear a splint on my left wrist for six months when Dylan was about 6 monthss old as I developed De coveigns (sp?) Tensovinitis. I recommend you go see your Dr and tell him about all your aches and get proper advice and treatment.

  5. Sam says:

    I echo what Daryl says about seeing a doc – you shouldn’t be having such extreme pain this long after childbirth but definitely take arthroguard and added magnesium and zinc. I had terrible wrist and hand pain during and after pregnancy which eased after about 10 months. I also battled with my hips for a long time after Kade due to the relaxin, which takes longer in some people to clear out of your system after birth apparently.

    For the tummy muscles – sit ups and crunches. No way out of it – this one takes hard work.

    xxx

  6. HI, never been pregnant with Zoé ;-)) but I also suffer from joint paint and mostly foot pain. Especially in the morning, or when I wake up at night, it is painful to walk on them. I read that carrying kids around (she is now 12 kg) a lot, may distort the shape of your feet. I must admit it got better in the summer when I would walk exclusively with “birkenstok” …..
    I also have wrist pains. I thought that all this was to do with carrying and taking care, and did not associate it with pregnancy ….
    Maybe I’ll go to the doc to have it checked out ….

  7. Melissa G says:

    Hi! The foot thing really got my attention. My daughter is 13 mos, and I was STILL having problems with my feet. Same as you – getting up first thing in the morning was awful. And for some reason after uncrossing my feet/legs. I finally ended up seeing a massage therapist through my Chiropractor. She was mostly working on my back, but I mentioned the trouble with my feet. She spent probably 15 minutes total massaging my feet, pushing and stretching them in different positions and they have been AWESOME ever since! ((Wish I could say the same for my back!) Maybe a trip to the spa is in order. 🙂

  8. Yvonne says:

    Hi Juanita,
    I have the exact same issues! My daughter is now 15 months and i still have joint pain, also wrists, feet feels weird when i stand up in the mornings. I do think the pregnancies/breastfeeding takes it out of you. Also been suffering from terrible back pain for the past couple of months due to lugging babies all over the place, and core muscles not strong after 2 c-secs. So I feel your pain and you are not alone! I think part of my problem is not having time to go and exercise. It should be made a priority!
    All the best, your babies are gorgeous.
    Yvonne

Leave a Reply

