Aunty Kaka

My sister came to visit this weekend.  I cannot express in words how much I miss her.  I cannot say how much I wish she were still in all our lives on a daily basis, but especially for the Hope Babes.

My sister arrived when the babes were five weeks old and au paired for us for seven or eight months.  She held my hand while I found my feet as a mother, she kept me calm through the terrifying days of terrible illness and hospital stays, she cried with me (and Sausage) through the colic.  She was absolutely exactly what I needed as a new mother.  The fact that she wasn’t a mother meant that she wasn’t full of assvise, she had ideas, but that was it, we learnt together and it helped me grow in confidence.

But the best part of having her as our au pair was the relationship and bond she formed with the Hope Babes.  She just explodes with love.  She has love and affection oozing out every pore.  Now other members of my family might not agree with this, because she tried hard to have a crusty exterior, but she has a marshmallow heart.  And my babes stole that heart completely.  She has been a fantastic aunty and the babes echo back that love at her.

When she left and moved back to Jo’burg Pudding was just not herself for a few weeks, I honestly think that at only eight months old Pudding missed her aunty.  When my sister came to visit at Christmas on the morning she arrived Pudding climbed into her lap and just sat there calm and quiet (not like either of my children).  I think she was so thrilled to have her Aunty back that she was just savouring sitting with her.  Well  when their Aunty Kaka arrived on Friday there was Pudding crawled up in her lap calm and quiet soaking up time with her aunty.  The cutest thing ever.  And it’s not just Pudding, Sausage found her hilarious, with the most adorable giggles and he put on his best show of showing her his art and pointing at every single thing he has words for and showing her how clever he is

And I could have cried, I just so wish that my sister could live closer again, could be in our lives more.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Aunty Kaka

  1. Sam says:

    Shame Nits, it must be so hard to have her so far away. I can’t tell you how invaluable having my Mom and sister so close by has been in the 2 years of Kade’s existence. May she get to visit you more often.

    xxx

  2. Heather says:

    I’m glad she had all that time with them and that you savour the time with her. My sister is in the USA – it’s even further away!

  3. baglady says:

    I understand this so much. When we skype with my family who’s in PE, my boy look at the screen all confused then start crying. I then just knows he misses them as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

