Home Alone

Today I drove like a maniac, I may well have gathered a few speeding fines en route home and I may or may not admit to having stopped at a red light but then proceeded through while it was still red.  I got one of those calls from home…

I had popped down a few floors to one of our other offices at work and left my phone on my desk.  Lucky for me I work with my hubby who has no hesitation on answering my phone for me.  He called down to the office I was in and said “You just got a call from some woman on the street outside our house.  Sausage has managed to lock Gogo (our nanny) and Pudding out the house and he is locked in the house all alone”.

They were all playing in the back garden and Sausage went running into the house and slammed the kitchen door behind him.  The door has one of those self-locking catches and it locked.  Just as an aside, it can be locked open and it also has a latch to the wall so he can’t slam the door, because he loves closing doors, but neither of these steps had been taken, but these things happen.

All I could think the whole drive home was about the silly things he could get up to in the house by himself.  He has gotten so dramatically mobile and good at climbing.  I have caught him and Pudding on the kitchen counters a couple of times, and the dining room table.  And they love jumping off things.  And then I was thinking about how he might get hysterical at not being able to see anyone.  I had images of him running around the house calling for Pudding and Gogo and probably even Mommy and Daddy.  Gogo was talking to him through the door so he knew he wasn’t totally alone, but how scary for a 19 month old to be home alone.

Anyway, he obviously heard me open the garage and was crying “Daddy, Daddy, Daddy” at the top of the stairs when I came running up.  I gathered him up and the poor boy was totally sweaty from running around looking for anyone.  He clung to me like crazy and just lay in my arms like a little baby.  Of course within five minutes he was totally back to himself and ate more lunch than I have seen him consume ever.  And is now having an awesome long nap (guess all the crying tired him out!)

The damage around the house was nothing like what I was expecting.  He had thrown all the dining room chairs over and moved a few chairs around the kitchen, but that was it!

He inherited this from me.  When I was about five I ‘drove’ my mom’s car down the driveway (I stood on the hand brake and managed to release it and the car was on a slope and rolled down the drive and out the gates and across the street before coming to a stop against the neighbour’s wall).  In the pandemonium that followed my Gran (who was sick in bed and looking after me) came running out the house in her gown and slippers and her hair in curlers and the door had one of those same latches on it and it locked behind her.  We were all locked out the house, out the front of the house.  And of course those were the days before cell phones so there we sat on the front stoep (veranda) waiting for my mom to come home from work.

These kids are going to make me grey!  Of course I can’t stop giggling now that the stress has passed.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in family, Twins and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home Alone

  1. Sam says:

    Shame poor baby boy and poor mommy! The STRESS!!! But glad that all’s well that ends well, bet he won’t be wanting to close any doors any time soon 😉

    xxx

  2. Heather says:

    Oh thank God, it could have been a lot worse…

Leave a Reply

