Party Food – Bar-One Rice Crispie Treats

I have been somewhat fanatical about the kids eating properly, only (mostly) being offered healthy foods.  And it has worked very well for us, the kids are mostly very unfussy and eat a very healthy balance diet and they think that healthy foods are yummy.  Their first taste of chocolate was at Easter this year, when they were 17 months old.  At parties they eat whatever is on offer and often seem to come back on a bit of a sugar high.  Last year for their birthday most of the party food was pretty healthy with very little junk other than the cake which was a carrot cake.

In April this year Chris and I started following a Low Carb, High Fat (LCHF) way of eating and since then to be honest the kids are offered even less junk in their lives.  But for their birthday this year I am throwing the rules out the window and there will by yummy junk food mixed in with the healthier options.

I have never posted recipes before (I don’t think), but in the run up to the twins birthday, it feels appropriate to share with you the find I am most excited about.  Bar-One Rice Crispie Treats.

Last year one of my colleagues rocked up for his birthday with these bars and I was “OMG, must have this recipe”, but as always seems to happen, time passed and I forgot all about them, thank heavens.  But once I got into party planning mode I remembered them and asked him for the recipe.  I got home on Tuesday night with the recipe and ingredients and the twins and I had a go at making them.  You have to try a new recipe before you do it for real, just in case…

  1. Melt 6 bar-ones (if not in South Africa Mars Bars are almost identical) with 180g butter (in microwave for 5 min on medium).  I stirred repeatedly throughout the process, mostly because Sausage was very insistent.  He kept opening the microwave (yes he has figured it out) and closing it and opening it and insisting that “Mommy stir”
  2. Put 6 cups of rice crispies into mixture and mix thoroughly.  At this point, Pudding declared “Mommy this yummy”
  3. Spread mixture on a greased tray/shallow dish.  I used one of those baking trays and lined it with baking paper.  Not sure if the baking paper is necessary, but it definitely made it easy to take out once set.  Pudding was digging the mixture back out the tray as fast as I was trying to spread it.
  4. Melt 400g of milk chocolate with 60g of butter in microwave for 3 min on medium.  Yes once again I had Sausage helping by opening and closing the microwave and insisting that I stir.
  5. Spread melted chocolate mixture on top of rice crispie mixture.  At which Pudding stuck her fingers in and declare “Mommy this yummy aso (also)”
  6. Place in fridge
  7. After 1 hour it is ready and can be cut into blocks and devoured

These took 15 minutes to make and I swear if I hadn’t had the twins ‘help’ I would definitely have managed to make this in just 10 minutes.  They are dead simple and once you taste them it is very difficult not to eat at least eight of them (or is it just me?).

For those of you coming to the twins second birthday, brace yourself for a taste sensation.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Diet, Recipe, Twins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Party Food – Bar-One Rice Crispie Treats

  1. Pingback: Monkey Party | Mommy-at-Last

Leave a Reply

