I Miss Blogging

It has been six months since my last post.  At first it was just another of those usual breaks, where life gets too hectic and you can’t fit it in.  Then it was all those thoughts that go around and around about why I write and who I write for and how much of my kids lives I should share.  And somehow along the way it became a bit of a decision that this blog had run its course.

Then I stopped tweeting too, it was just consuming too much of my attention, and I took the conscious decision to focus more on my family than my phone.

I have cut right back on the blogs that I follow and have even fallen out of practice with the commenting.

And some of this has been so good for me.  With it I feel like my confidence as a Mom has grown, or maybe that was going to happen anyway the longer I kept being a Mom? I trust my instincts more rather than turning to the twitter-verse to help me decide if the kids need a doctor or whether we should ride it out.  I am more present, more in the moment of living experiences, not constantly thinking about how I will phrase it when I write about it.  I have taken up reading (books) again, it seems that Twitter and Blogs and Forums can deprive you of any time for a good de-stressing absorbing story. I have been much more focused on my work.

But I miss blogging.  I miss the support of people who were choosing to read because they had walked a similar path, were busy walking a similar path or who related to something in my experience or in my writing style. I miss Twitter and specifically some of the awesome people I got to ‘know’. I miss the sometimes thought provoking insights into other peoples lives or experiences or though processes. I miss the thrill of a good comment.

And very often I think that by not blogging I am missing the opportunity to capture the little details of our lives.  The gorgeous things my kids say and do.  The special moments shared with my husband. I ponder taking the blog private so I can capture my kids stories without compromising their privacy.  I ponder taking my blog private so I can capture how awesome I think my kids are without offending anyone else or being perceived as “that” mother.

Is anyone still out there or have you given up on me?

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Miss Blogging

  1. Nicci says:

    I’m still here 🙂
    Must say that even though I haven’t always been a great Twitter contributor, I used to spend a lot of time reading my timeline. I have a limited number of blogs I follow (although I’m not great on commenting), and also FaceBook fairly regularly. I try not to spend too much time on social media or on my phone/iPad when the girls are awake, rather spend time with them – it’s far more entertaining!

  2. Sam says:

    I am still here and as much as you miss blogging I miss reading your thoughts and interacting with you on Twitter. That said I do think that I need to pull back a bit from Twitter and blogs especially in the work day.

    xx

    • MommyAtLast says:

      I miss you too my friend and in fact it has been seeing your blog resurface and become more active again that is partially inspiring me to get back to it.

  3. Mrs FF says:

    Still here!

    Welcome back to blogland (hopefully)

  4. darylfaure says:

    Still here.

  5. I totally understand how you feel. Blogging and twitter is giving me back friendships that infertility had robbed off me. A good comment can lift your entire day! But if and when babies might arrive then like you I don’t want to be head stuck in my phone all the time. But like you say it’s a chance to record those precious moments… maybe there is a halfway line, is it possible to be a part-timer? x

  6. Melinda says:

    Hello…I totally understand what you are saying. Besides the time that SM takes, it also takes away your ability to “feel normal”..(if that makes any sense). I backed off everything. I keep FB for the photos mainly family/friends and I read a handful of blogs and have started blogging again. I read an article about “FOMO” (fear of missing out) and it opened my eyes to just how addictive our society has become with SM.

    • MommyAtLast says:

      I think that might actually just be it a real FOMO going on here. I see the interaction the blogs I read are getting and I feel I am missing out on it. Though I do think that the people I interact with on social media help me to feel more ‘normal’, so many have walked a similar path and have similar values.

  7. Heather says:

    I am here! Have recently started a mom blog directory – great way to connect. http://samomblogs.co.za

  8. I miss you too dear. I’m picking up with my blog again too. Finally. It feels good.

  9. I have taken parts of my blog private for the same reasons and it works for me. The public blog is still running though for the slightly less personal stuff – but also it has no photos etc of the kids so no one will know its me if they happen upon it.

  10. TeeJay says:

    I’m still here. I miss you, too. And I miss blogging. I started getting back into it and then it seems I have fallen off again. Blah I am so far behind that it seems silly to go back and rehash what is done and over but I really believe that I might be able to help someone with my story. It’s just hard to write it all out. Anyway, if you go private I would love to keep following you. It’s definitely something I have thought about, too. I think writing is a wonderful tool for dealing with life and really understanding our own emotions. I’m glad you posted and I do hope you will jump back in.

Leave a Reply

